In a New York state of …meme?

January 3, 2009

I really need to do a good post, because many things have happened and will happen. These things include an awesome amount of FOs, my first homespun, a possible move to Denmark, etc.. But most important, comes the New Year’s MEME!

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

Celebrated my first wedding anniversary! Made an impressive network of good friends…um. I took my first linguistics class? Not much else important is sticking out.
2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I was too depressed and miserable to make any resolutions for this year. I was pretty upset about the move back to the States, and didn’t really know what was coming and how to possible improve upon it.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

I don’t think so? I’d probably know, right?

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Nope.

5. What foreign countries did you visit?

Canada, I guess.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

Health, happiness, stability, and a nice solid lack of debt (not gonna happen).

7. What date from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

March 8 (my birthday!), May 23 (Zap’s going-away party that has the unforgettable images of Matt wrapped in pink crepe streamers trying to sing a Bon Jovi song, but forgetting halfway through and finishing it up with a Meatloaf song), May 25 (the  day we moved back), August 4 (wedding anniversary). That’s  more or less it.

8. What was your biggest achievement of this year?

Uh. Getting a job at Starbucks? Passing all of my fall term classes with a moderate GPA?

9. What was your biggest failure?

The bit where I wrecked all of our financial future and landed us back in this hellhole that we struggled so damned hard to get away from. To be fair, that started in 2007, but the consequences really hit in 2008.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Hahahaha. Not as bad as usual. Just a lot of dumb little work-related or knitting-related injuries. That and the bike crash that took all the skin off my left shin and  left me a bloody skinless mess for several weeks. Mmm. Fun.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
I just bought a hat a couple of weeks ago. It’s pretty and it was cheap. I haven’t really bought much this year.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Chris, most definitely. Getting himself out of his funk and getting an incredible job.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Honestly, and with no intent for emo and angst, mostly just mine. And those of the 30% of America who actually voted for Sarah Palin. And Sarah Palin. In retrospect, I don’t look that bad…

14. Where did most of your money go?

Debt, school, food, cat-upkeep.

15. What did you get really, really excited about?
The Election, HOLY CRAP AWESOME!

16. What songs will always remind you of 2008?

“C’mon Sea Legs”-Immaculate Machine, “Girl”- Tori Amos, “Seven”-Prince

17. Compared to this time last year:

i. are you happier or sadder? I could not say.
ii. thinner or fatter? Thinner, actually.
iii. richer or poorer? I do not know? I have more money in my bank, but more debt as well.
iv. older or wiser? Wiser and a billion times older.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

I wish I had taken care of myself more. I spent too much of my energy on school, and on trying to take care of Matt and everyone else. I did not focus on my needs and I crashed and burned.
19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Moping.

20. How will you be spending New Years Eve?
I worked at 5AM on New Year’s Eve, and was exhausted. Spent most of the evening crying because I had thought we were going to do something fun and it turned out that Matt had entirely failed to plan anything.  Also because looking back on this year pretty much just makes me cry anyway. I really sound angsty, don’t I?
21. Did you fall in love in 2008?

There is this loveable black lab that comes through the Drive at work and her name is Stella and she knows me and loves me and I love her.

22. How many one-night stands?
None, thanks.
23. What was your favourite TV program?

I watched a LOT of Star Trek: TNG on DVD. That’s it?
24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I don’t think so. Not much for the hate.

25. What was the best book you read?
I was introduced to the Robin Hobb trilogies. Holy mother of all gods. They are incredible. I also finally read Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley, and the Game of Thrones by George R. Martin. They were all amazing.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Tori Amos, and I was introduced to Immaculate Machine in 2007 but I really got into them in 2008.

27. What did you want and get?
Um. At one point I was really wanting a crockpot. I got that.

28. What did you want and not get?

Most things. But mainly I really wanted to get a gift certificate for a massage or some other relax-y salon-y thingy. Alisa got close with the Secret Santa gift at work with the bath salts and candles, and bless her a million times over for those.

29. What was your favourite film of this year?
Either Quantum of Solace or the Dark Knight.
30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 20 and had to work. Kaari, Stephen and Matt all stayed late with me and brought stuffed animals and we had a ridiculous stuffed animal tea party in the back office while we ignored customers like crazy. That weekend Matt took me out for a day on the town in Victoria. We ate at my favorite places (Shiki Sushi and Korean Gardens) and had tea at a  sweet little cafe and went for a really long walk all along the docks into Esquimalt.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
I don’t know. Had I been able to stay in Victoria. That’s really it.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Um? Huh. Sarat introduced me to fun, funky boutiques in Vic and I got addicted to buying things that are only made one-of-a-kind. It’s been a lot of that and fun kids’ t-shirts found at thrift stores. I just recently  got an awesome Elmo shirt. Pair that with a handmade skirt, leggings and kickass boots and I am distinctively…me. Unfortunately I am only allowed two colours at work, and winter biking does not really like skirts or much else, so I’ve been a bit more boring than I would like.

33. What kept you sane?
I honestly can’t say that I stayed sane.  I think I actually lost it by the end of fall term. What brought me back to sanity was actually a surprise visit from Emily that went swimmingly, and having my family to fall back on for support for the first time in my life. And having fluffiful kittens at home.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
…despite the several hundred pictures of Alyson Hannigan on my wall, I have actually been severely intrigued by the Britney Spears saga. I can’t say why, but I am drawn to the poor girl.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
Besides the election…the whole fucking Prop 8 shit. ANI SMASH.

36. Who did you miss?
Kaari, Stephen, Amy, Shads, Sarat and Meghan.

37. Who was the best new person you met?
I dunno? Adam was an astoundingly awesome self-esteem and mood-booster at work. Claire, Grant and Rochelle got me through the term…without them I most certainly would have dropped out. But no one struck a fire in my soul.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
Just keep swimming, just keep swimming….

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year

C’mon sea legs, pull yourself together

you’re gonna have to learn

to like the rockin’ of the waves, whatever

C’mon now, it’s not meant to be easy

but you’re not gonna spend your life

being sick over the side.

Would you look at yourself

staring hypnotized into the deepgreen sea?

A breath of wind could blow you away.

And

she’s been everybody else‘s girl

maybe someday she’ll be her own.


Leave a Reply

