Oh the pretties!

January 31, 2010

I am a sucker for a good surprise. It’s true. Even bad surprises kind of make me giddy.  So imagine my giddiness and delight when I come home last night to find a PACKAGE! A surprise one! FILLED WITH THINGS! Yes! Excitement!

Worst! Photograph! Ever!

The lovely Miss Trine sent me a package all the way from Denmark, filled with goodies.

As if I didn’t already think that I was soulmates with the entire country of Denmark, I now have proof in the form of  turtle-shaped-rum-and-caramel-filled-dark-chocolatese, with promises that the Danes produce many of these. Mmm.

And of course, Winnie the Pooh’s Little Book of Feng Shui, which will nestle happily in between my various copies of Winnie the Pooh and the Tao of Pooh/Te of Piglet books, until of course I run across someone who needs a bit of Hundred Acre Wisdom paid forward 🙂

Not Pictured: The Phantom Tollbooth, and Petit Prince

But the best for last, yes? This yarn actually came out of the package screaming “CALL ME ISHBEL!” (yeah, like no one’s ever made that joke before. Clever, Ani). But it’s true. As soon as finish my FLS (which will happen in about 30 minutes!), and the Clover socks that I am knitting for my mommy, I am going to cast on for an Ishbel. I’ve been wanting to knit one for forever. I was also going to be out of stash yarn (the one benefit to my total creative dryspell recently is a teeensy stash) for projects, and stuck trying to decide between the 500-something projects favorited on Rav. It is a lovely fingering cashmere blend and I really like the color! It’s really nothing like the color in this horrible picture. But I don’t know when  we’ll actually get real light any time soon, so just imagine this as slightly greener, more vibrant and more delicious.

Yum.

So really, it was a good day yesterday! And I am well on my way to a whole three-day weekend that I admittedly can’t afford but am excited about nonetheless. Tonight is devoted to finishing the sleeve on my FLS, washing her, and setting her out to block. Tomorrow is all about sockage and writing yet another gender-based linguistics paper.

Thanks Trine!

2 Responses to “Oh the pretties!”

  1. Danni said

    Yay for surprises!!! That’s a fantastic one. And all the way from Denmark!? Wow.

    Happy new yarn!!!

  2. Heather said

    That yarn looks beauuuuuuuuuuuutiful, you are a very lucky lady!

Leave a Reply

